Tyler Mobley’s Visual Diary


Wild Things (Not with Denise Richards)
March 26, 2009, 7:48 am
Filed under: Uncategorized
Jonze's take on Max. Image originally from USA Today.

Jonze's take on Max. Image originally from USA Today.

So I suppose this week will be another not necesarilly photographic but perhaps visual post. Beloved children’s book Where the Wild Things Are wil be coming to the big screen. In production for quite some time now, the film is directed by Spike Jonze with a screenplay co-written by Jonze and author Dave Eggers. The movie actually seemed like it might be in trouble last year, as studio execs were not pleased with the dark tone of Jonze’s vision. They sent him back for some more kid-friendly reshoots, and yesterday everyone got a first look.

The trailer, linked below, shows the monsters in action and really looks impressive. I’m curious to see how this turns out and if it became a really watered-down kids movie or not. I guess we’ll see.

Where the Wild Things Are will be released on October 16, 2009, so anyone who’s excited has a while to wait yet. Still, a nice 2-minute trailer is always good to get people riled up.

View the trailer at Apple.com here.


4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

As a lover of both photography and Maurice Sendak I really love this picture and this post.

Comment by Katie McKay

P.S. I also can’t wait to see one of my favorite books both from my childhood and my semi-adulthood on the big screen. Great post again.

Comment by Katie McKay

[…] here is a link to his post where my comment is posted:  here Published […]

Pingback by Notes on the wild and wonderful things « tabula rasa

I really like this picture…and i’m also super excited to see this movie when it comes out.

Comment by eosmall




Leave a comment